• Freelorn begins the Nightwalk
  • Five lives. Four realms. One legend.
  • Image
  • Image
  • Herewis and Sunspark near the ancient Hold
blue Fire

The Middle Kingdoms series

...encompasses nearly half a million words of award-winning prose -- novels and short works that have engaged and entertained a passionate readership for four decades.


The Kingdoms' universe

The Middle Kingdoms are four small realms located at the heart of a world where humanity is slowly finding its feet again, many centuries after the banishment of an ancient evil. Their world is an alternate Earth—one of many millions of companion worlds gathered together in one small sheaf of the great, ever-shifting Pattern of universes. And while there are similarities to our own world, there are also many profound differences.

Here Dragons are real—ancient travelers from another world far away among the stars. Here magic, in several forms, is more or less a commonplace. Here the Goddess Who rules everything is not hidden away, but part of most people's lives, walking in Her world. And here the matter of who you love, and how, is between you and Her... no one else.

In such a world the impossible gives way unexpectedly to the marvelous. In such a world, a part-time blacksmith, a runaway prince, a rogue Dragon, a wandering swordswoman and an insatiably curious fire elemental can join forces to put the rightful King on his throne, defeat the Goddess's immortal and malicious Shadow, and (if they're very lucky) ultimately save a world that's very much worth saving.

Welcome to the Middle Kingdoms!

View The Demos